DATABASES
Each of the Research Sections is in the process of databasing its collections with the goal of making these databases accessible through the Museum's website. Want to know where to find a specific plant, insect, or other animal in Colorado, or find out whether the Museum owns any fossils from Boulder County? This is the place to look.
Botany
Specimen Database of Colorado Vascular Plants
Fully searchable database of complete label information for specimens of Colorado vascular plants housed at Herbarium COLO.
Colorado Vascular Plants by County
Species lists by county, or county lists by species name. Includes selected synonyms.
Colorado Type Specimens
Follow this link to download and/or print a report of all of COLO's type specimens. We have a general list of species we hold as well as a printout containing entire label information.
Entomology
Orthoptera Collection
The Entomology Section's Orthoptera database currently consists of 24,500 grasshoppers that were collected in Colorado from the early 1900s to recent. In the future, we will add all non-grasshopper Orthoptera (katydids and crickets) that are in the collection to the database. This database is part of the Gordon Alexander Project. The above link will take you to the Project's website.
Bees of Colorado
The 2011 publication of The Bees of Colorado is available for download.
Species Type List
Download and/or print a report of the University of Colorado Museum's insect type specimens.
Insect Species List
The insects are listed alphabetically within order, family, and genus. Every effort is made to update nomenclature, however we suggest that when you are looking for a species, you also check for junior synonyms.
Paleontology
Fossil Invertebrate and Plant Collections
The Museum's Fossil Invertebrate and Plant Collections are available for searching online through the Museum's website.
Zoology
Mammal Records
Mammal records are available for searching online through the MaNIS database federation project. Using this site, you may choose the University of Colorado Museum (UCM) as a provider and search our collections.
Herpetological Records
Herpetological records are available for searching online through the HerpNet database federation project. Using this site, you may choose the University of Colorado Museum (UCM) as a provider and search our collections.
The Mountains and Plains Spatio-Temporal Database Informatics Initiative (MaPSTeDI) Mapping Portal
Search for specimens across our collections (including invertebrates, fishes, birds, etc.) and retrieve maps showing the locations of those specimens.
