BOTANY DATABASE AND RESEARCH TOOLS

Specimen Database of Colorado Vascular Plants

This database has been replaced by our new database located at https://botanydb.colorado.edu

No further updates will be made to this database. All specimen data previously housed here have been transfered to the new location.

Return to Botany Databases & Research Tools

Welcome to the CU Museum Herbarium's Specimen Database of Colorado Vascular Plants. This database contains label data for specimens housed at Herbarium COLO only. Data entry is complete for historical collections and is ongoing for newly accessioned specimens. Type specimens are in a separate database, Colorado Type Specimens. Please note, your browser must have JavaScript enabled to search this database. For questions or comments, please contact herbcolo@colorado.edu.

Last updated December 22, 2011

Taxonomic Information

Select a family or genus to begin. The specific epithet and infraspecific epithet fields will be filled in based on your family and genus choices.

Family:

Genus:

Specific Epithet:

Infraspecific Epithet:

Note: Synonyms are included in genus, specific epithet and infraspecific information pull-down boxes. If you search on a taxon name that is a synonym of the accepted name used by COLO, the records returned will show the COLO name. If your search is not returning any records, or is returning records that seem erroneous, check the Catalog of the Colorado Flora for COLO's accepted name and relevant synonymy.

Narrow Your Search

Colorado County:
(Select more than one county by using the CTRL or SHIFT key)

*Search hints for Location and Collector Name fields:

  • use + (plus sign) before words to include all words in your search results (equivalent to the AND boolean operator): +black +canyon
  • use " " (double quotes) to search for an exact phrase: "Rocky Mountain National Park"
  • use - (minus sign) before words to exclude words from your search results (equivalent to the NOT boolean operator): -boulder +mountain +park
  • use of no symbols will retrieve records with at least one of the search terms (equivalent to the OR boolean operator)
  • keep search more general to capture all desired records; e.g., a search on 'Ramaley' will return records that contain 'Francis Ramaley' and 'F. Ramaley'; a search on '+Verde +Park' will return 'Mesa Verde National Park' and 'Mesa Verde Nat. Park'.

*Location:  

*Collector Name:  

Start Date:  

End Date:  
(Enter dates in MM/DD/YYYY format.)